Texas Athletics Announces 2022 Hall of Honor Class


AUSTIN, TX – Eleven former University of Texas student-athletes will be inducted into the Texas Athletics Hall of Honor in September. These 11 individuals will be recognized as the Class of 2022 at an induction ceremony on Friday, September 16.

The ceremony will begin at 7:00 p.m. central time at the LBJ Auditorium and Conference Center on the UT campus (2313 Red River St.). Tickets for this year’s Hall of Honor show will be general admission and are available for $25 per person.

The 68th Men’s Hall of Honor class includes: Sam Acho (Football, 2007-10), a 2010 first-team All-American and two-time first-team college All-American who received both the National Football Foundation’s William V. Campbell Trophy and the Wuerffel Trophy and was selected as the Top NCAA VIII Award winner and the Big 12 Male Sportsperson of the Year; Kevin Durant (Basketball, 2006-07), one of the most decorated Longhorns of all time a collegiate national player of the year and had his number 35 jersey retired in Texas, a three-time Olympic gold medalist, two-time NBA champion and 2014 NBA Most Valuable Player, as well as a star of the NBA 12 times; Jonny Levin (Tennis, 1982-84), one of Texas’ most successful tennis players who earned ITA All-America singles honors in 1983 and 1984; Dustin Majewski (Baseball, 2002-03), a two-time All-American who was twice named Big 12 Tournament MVP and NCAA Austin Regional, earned All-Tournament College World Series team honors for the 2002 NCAA title team, and was MVP of the 2003 team that finished tied for third in the nation; and Kirk Stackle (Swimming & Diving 1987-90), a key member of the early days and one of the most dominant stretches of the Eddie Reese dynasty that won three individual NCAA titles helping lead Texas to three consecutive national championships from 1988-1990. Vintage Selection Ovie Dotson (Basketball, 1976-79), reserved for winners who have completed their eligibility at least 40 years prior to nomination, completes the male class.

The 23rd class of the Women’s Hall of Honor includes: BJ Bedford (swimming and diving, 1991-94), 21-time All-American, two-time national champion and Olympic gold medalist; Lindsay Gardner (Softball, 2000-03), a second-team All-American in 2000 who was a two-time All-Midwest Region and an All-Big 12 and Big 12 All-Tournament selection three times; current assistant head coach of women’s golf, Kate Golden (women’s golf, 1986-89), a three-time second-team All-American and first-team All-Southwest Conference selection; Robyne Johnson (Racetrack, 1982-85), a three-time three-time All-American jumper and member of the 1982 AIAW Outdoor National Championship team who is currently the director of T&F/Cross Country in Cal; and Anne Grousbeck Matta (Women’s tennis, 1985-88), a three-time ITA All-American in singles who helped the Longhorns win four consecutive NCAA Championship tournaments and four Southwestern Conference tag team titles.

New members of the hall will receive a special salute during the Texas football game against UTSA on Saturday, September 17.


Comments are closed.